Badminton has become one of the most favoured sports in all levels of society. It was competed for the first time in Paralympics in Amersfoot, Netherlands, in 1998.

Para-badminton will be divided into men’s single, women’s single, men’s double, women’s double, and mixed double. Meanwhile, athletes eligible to compete in the 2018 Asian Para Games are:

  1. two wheelchair classes (WH);
  2. two standing classes for lower limb impairment (SL);
  3. one standing class for upper limb impairment (SU);
  4. one class for short stature athletes (SS).


How to Play

Badminton is a sport played with a racket and a shuttlecock (a feathered target in replacement of a ball). Badminton applies knockout with 21 as victory number. The rally point will also be applied if the players who competed reached the same points in match point.   It can be played in singles (2 people) or doubles (4 people).

It is played on a rectangular court that is divided by a net. Players score points by hitting the shuttlecock with the racket so it hits the floor over the net on the opponents’ half of the court. The shuttlecock may only be struck once by each side before it passes over the net. The player or team with the most points wins.